The One to Count On...

New football districts released

Posted: Wednesday, February 3rd, 2010 at 8:20 am

The new football districts are out and for the first time the Washington Demons will not be in the same district as Mount Pleasant and Fairfield. This is a redistricting year for high school football, they do it every two years. Next season, the Demons will be playing in 3A District 6 which will consist of, moving up from 2A, Solon, Benton Community, Clear Creek Amana, Grinnell, Mount Vernon, South Tama, and Williamsburg. The four other Southeast Conference schools will play in 3A District 7, with Centerville, Chariton, Oskaloosa, Pella. It is possible that the Demons could play Mount Pleasant and Fairfield in their non-district games, if that happens the Demons would be dropping long time non-distirct opponents in Mid-Prairie and Pella.

In Class 2A, Mid-Prairie and Sigourney-Keota will see saw just two changes in their district. Columbus and Louisa-Muscatine were moved to another district and in their place Albia and Eddyville-Blakesburg were moved in. Columbus and L&M were moved into a district with Camanche, Durant-Bennett, Regina, Tipton, West Liberty, and Wilton.

In 1A, the Highland Huskies were moved up from A to 1A and they will play in District 6 with Alburnett, Cardinal, North Cedar, Pekin, Van Buren, Wapello and West Branch.

Finally in Class A, the area schools will play in District 5, which includes WACO, Winfield-Mount Union, Lone Tree, New London, Danville, and the two new schools will be English Valleys and Lisbon.