The One to Count On...

Coach Long and Sobaski receive All-District Honors

Posted: Thursday, March 4th, 2010 at 8:41 am

The Demon girls basketball team had a player and their coach receive all-district honors. The 2010 Iowa Girls Coaches’ Association All-District Team is similar to all-state but the state is divided up into six sections or regions. In 3A for the Southeast District, Demon Senior Cassey Sobaski was named to the all-district team and Demon Head Coach Phil Long was named Coach of the Year for the district. Some of the others making Southeast All-District were Keokuk’s Shelsey Stanley, Williamsburg’s Mackenzie Bigbee, Mount Pleasant’s Taylor Shull, and Davenport Assumption’s Alyson Spinas-Valinas. In Class 2A making Southeast All-District, Sigourney’s Carolyn Holm. Finally in 1A, Highland’s Anna Sweeting and Lone Tree’s Courtney Burr.