The One to Count On...

Several Local Students Among Winners of Congressional Art Contest

Posted: Wednesday, May 5th, 2010 at 6:25 am

Two Mid-Prairie students and five Maharishi students are among the winners of the 2010 Congressional Art Contest. Congressman Dave Loebsack announced that Kensie Wackoy won first place, Brandon Huff got third, Ryan Smeller, Nathan Ziu, and Grace Hannet all won honorable mention and all are from Maharishi. Kelsey Berg got second place, and Carrie Fiordelise won honorable mention, both from Mid-Prairie. The contest was open to all high school students in the Second District of Iowa. This year marked the 28th anniversary of the Congressional Art Competition. Students from across all 435 congressional districts participate each year.