The One to Count On...

State Baseball Champions

Posted: Monday, August 2nd, 2010 at 7:42 am

The state baseball champions have been crowned. The Iowa High School State Baseball Tournament finished up on Saturday. In Class 1A, Martensdale-St. Mary’s beat Remsen St. Mary’s 3-0. In 2A, Solon was a winner over Keumper Catholic 5-2 to take the title. In Class 3A, Glenwood beat Charles City 4-1. Finally in Class 4A Cedar Rapids Kennedy won in five innings 11-1 over Iowa City West. Now the Iowa High School Baseball Coaches Association will put on their All-Star series which consists of four teams, Small Schools East, Small Schools West, Large Schools West, and Large Schools East. They will play those games in Cedar Rapids at Kernel’s Stadium and Kirkwood. Mid-Prairie’s Aaron Smit was selected to play on the Small School East squad.