The One to Count On...

Washington And Keokuk Join Iowa County On Federal Disaster List

Posted: Wednesday, August 25th, 2010 at 6:30 am


Seven Iowa counties have been added to a presidential disaster declaration for public assistance after severe storms and flooding this summer. Washington, Keokuk and Iowa counties, as well as more than half of Iowa’s other counties, are now eligible for the Public Assistance program. The Federal Emergency Management Agency website says the program assists “state and local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations … on a cost-sharing basis to help rebuild public infrastructure damage from storms and flooding. Generally, the grant covers 75 percent of the approved eligible cost.”  For more information, visit