The One to Count On...

Washington, Jefferson, Johnson County Residents Urged To Apply For State Disaster Assistance

Posted: Wednesday, August 25th, 2010 at 6:28 am

Washington, Jefferson and Johnson County residents are eligible for state disaster assistance through Iowa’s Individual Assistance Program. Washington and Keokuk County Emergency Management Coordinator Larry Smith says the program will reimburse those residents up to $5,000 for costs associated with this summer’s rainfall.  He stresses that the Individual Assistance Program is for reimbursement, meaning residents must first spend the money and then apply for funds with original receipts.  The program is only available to individuals and families whose income is less than 200% above poverty level.  Using those standards, individuals making $21,660 or less, and a family of four making $44,100 or less, are eligible.