The One to Count On...

Coaches Association Releases All-Region Teams

Posted: Wednesday, March 9th, 2011 at 8:01 am
Author: KCII Sports - Dagan Miller

The Iowa Basketball Coaches Association have released their All-Region Teams. In girls basketball the brackets are set up as numbered regions that funnel into the state tournament. It’s a little different than the boys who play a district tournament that funnels into a sub-state round and then the state tournament. In 3A, the Washington Demons played in Region 5 with the conference schools, Solon, Centerville, and Davenport Assumption. Make the Region 5 All-Regional Team were:
Washington – Sydney Greiner Jr.
Solon – Kelsey Dirks Sr.
Mount Pleasant – Taylor Shull Jr.
Fairfield – Serena Ward Jr.
Centerville – Olivia Starcevich Jr.
Davenport Assumption – Melissa Youngblut Sr. and Emma Ambrose Sr.

Assumption won the region and went on to win the state title.

In 2A, Highland Senior Anna Sweeting made it for Region 6.

In 1A, Lone Tree’s Senior Courtney Burr and Freshman Madelyn Flemr, Winfield-Mount Union Senior Taylor Breon received the honor for Region 6 in that class.