The One to Count On...

4-H Award and Family Fun Night Held

Posted: Tuesday, November 15th, 2011 at 6:26 am
Author: KCII News - Bill Gatchel


Washington County 4-H held its annual Award and Family Fun Night this past weekend and many awards were presented.  This event was to recognize the hard work performed by 4-H’ers and volunteers in the last year. Various club leaders were acknowledged for their many years of service including Jim Schneider for his 35 years of 4-H leadership.

Other volunteers were given awards for their dedication and contributions to the 4-H program in the county.  The members of the County Council also took office.


One special award was the “I Dare You Award” presented to Sarah Altenhofen in recognition of her personal integrity, balanced living and potential for leadership.

Around 225 people were in attendance for the awards ceremony and potluck supper.  To see a list of all award winners, look below:


4-H club leaders who have volunteered their time, service, skills and leadership to youth were recognized for their years service.  Five years:  Bob Spenner, Deidra Baker, Don Pfeiffer, Dorcas Jarrard, Erin Smith. Ten years:  Laurie Pemberton.  15 years:  Kathy Ebert. 25 years:  Barb Swailes.  30 years:  Doug Colbert was recognized for 30 years of service.  35 years:  Jim Schneider.


4-H Volunteers awarded for their dedication and contributions to the Washington County 4-H Program:  Retiring leader Leon Greiner – Friend of 4-H Award.  4-H Alumni Award:  club leader of 35 years and fair board member Jim Schneider.


4-H Family of the Year Award:  multiple generations of the Robert and Janet Spenner Family.  4-H Volunteer of the Year Award:  Youth committee member and a 4-H parent, Sheila Temple.  Partner in 4-H:  Federation Bank after sponsoring 4-H t-shirts for all 4-H members last year.


County 4-H Council – New members: Madeline Hora, Mitchell Hora, Jayse Horning, Brad Lampe, Austin Witt and Brett Wright.   Returning members: Mackenzie Adrian, Sarah Altenhofen, Lauren Carter, Joni Erwin, Zeb Fisher, Austin Knupp, Sarah Lenz, Lexi Marek, Trent Megchelsen, Logan Moeller, Bridget Nebel, Shelly Palmer, Shawna Sieren, Jacqueline Spenner, Shari Temple, Austin Twinam, Maggie VanRoekel, and Josie Wagler.

Citizenship Awards:  Mitchell Hora of the Jackson Jets and Logan Moeller of the Franklin Cubs.  Achievement Awards:  Logan Moeller and Lauren Carter.

Ak-Sar-Ben Award presented for making significant progress toward leadership beyond the county level:  Lauren Carter and Jacqueline Spenner both of the Jackson Jets 4-H Club.

Leadership Awards:  Shelly Palmer and Sarah Altenhofen senior members of the Limecreek Limelights.

I Dare You leadership Award:  Sarah Altenhofen.


Intermediate Citizenship award:  Madeline Hora of the Jackson Jets and Holly Vittetoe of the Prairie Pride who have promoted 4-H in a positive way, are actively involved in the 4-H program, and have demonstrated skills in citizenship, leadership, and community service.

Community Service Award:  The Limecreek Limelights 4-H Club for their volunteer work with After-school Program in Wellman.

First year members were given a certificate and seal, marking one year of membership in 4-H.