The One to Count On...

Decision to Close Area Post Offices Delayed

Posted: Thursday, December 15th, 2011 at 6:26 am
Author: KCII News - Bill Gatchel


A ruling to close a number of area post offices in an effort by the U.S. Postal Service to cut costs has been delayed.  Governor Terry Branstad sent a letter to Postmaster General Donohoe in September requesting the federal agency reconsider their consolidation and closures of Iowa’s post offices.  The Post Office has been struggling financially, and officials with the Postal Service say residents in some areas may lose the physical post office building, but not necessarily their mail service.

The agency released a list of 178 Iowa cities that could be affected by the plans in the summer.  The Postal Service has announced they will delay the closures and consolidations until May of next year.

Under the previous plan, Iowa would lose almost 18 percent of its post offices, compared to 11 percent nationally.  The list of area towns that could be affected by the Postal Service’s plan are:

Henry County

Hillsboro, Mt. Union, Olds, Swedesburg

Iowa County

Conroy, Ladora, Middle Amana, Millersburg, Parnell, South Amana

Jefferson County


Keokuk County

Hayesville, Keswick, Martinsburg, Ollie, Thornburg

Louisa County

Grandview, Oakville

Muscatine County

Fruitland, Moscow, Stockton