The One to Count On...

IGHSAU Releases All-District Teams, Three Area Players Honored

Posted: Friday, March 2nd, 2012 at 8:28 am
Author: KCII Sports- Jason Troop

The Iowa Girls High School Athletic Union has released All-District basketball teams from each of the four classes in the state and two girls from Washington and one from Winfield-Mt. Union were honored.

The Demons’ Sydney Greiner and Lauren Vittetoe were named to the class 3A All-District team in the southeast.  Despite missing eight games with a broken thumb, Greiner averaged 14.7 points-per-game and 4.8 rebounds while helping lead Washington to a regional final appearance and 18-6 record.  Vittetoe posted 11.9 points-per-game and led the Demons in assists (53), steals (58), and 51 three-point makes, shooting 36.4% from behind the arc.

Greiner and Vittetoe were joined on the all-district team by fellow conference players Taylor Shull (Mt. Pleasant), Serena Ward (Fairfield), and Zoe Kayvan (Keokuk).  Williamsburg’s Aaron Fedderson was named District Coach of the Year.

WMU junior Cassie Kingery was named all-district in the southeast of class 1A.  Kingery helped lead the Wolves to an 18-6 record while leading the team in scoring (12.3ppg) and snagging a team-high 80 steals (3.3spg).  Kingery was joined by just two others out of the SEI Super Conference as Mediapolis’ Jessica Holsteen and Haley Hillyard were named all-district in class 2A.