The One to Count On...

Area Post Offices to Remain Open

Posted: Saturday, May 12th, 2012 at 6:30 am
Author: KCII News - Bill Gatchel


As previously reported on KCII, a number of area post offices set to close last year in an effort by the U.S. Postal Service to cut costs will now remain open.  Last September a letter was sent to Postmaster General Donohoe from Governor Terry Branstad requesting the federal agency reconsider their consolidation and closures of Iowa’s post offices.  Earlier this week, the decision to not close these locations was announced.

Governor Branstad says he is pleased that the post offices are not closing as it would have an impact on the rural communities.  The Post Office has been struggling financially recently and they were looking at options to save money.

Last summer, the agency released a list of 178 Iowa cities that could have been affected by the plans.

Under the previous plan, Iowa was set to lose almost 18 percent of its post offices.  Governor Branstad notes that “in a small rural community the post office is an identity, way of life, and a vital economic development tool.”

The towns whose Post Offices will remain open–

Henry County:

Hillsboro, Mt. Union, Olds, Swedesburg

Iowa County:

Conroy, Ladora, Middle Amana, Millersburg, Parnell, South Amana

Jefferson County:


Keokuk County:

Hayesville, Keswick, Martinsburg, Ollie, Thornburg

Louisa County:

Grandview, Oakville

Muscatine County:

Fruitland, Moscow, Stockton