The One to Count On...

Numerous Southeast Iowa Farmers Eligible for Emergency Loans

Posted: Friday, July 20th, 2012 at 6:28 am
Author: KCII News - Bill Gatchel


Farmers in several counties in southeast Iowa may be eligible for low-interest emergency loans.  These loans would be for farmers who suffered major production or physical losses caused by the combined effects of frosts and freezes between April 6th and April 30th.  A Secretarial Natural Disaster Designation has been issued for nine counties in Iowa including Johnson and Lee in southeast Iowa.

Contiguous counties included in this Designation are Washington, Henry, Iowa and Louisa.  Qualified farmers living in these areas have eight months to apply for low interest emergency loans from the USDA’s Farm Service Agency.

For more information, contact your local USDA office.