The One to Count On...

Southeast Iowa Counties Deemed as Disaster Areas

Posted: Friday, July 6th, 2012 at 6:30 am
Author: KCII News - Bill Gatchel


Farmers in several counties in southeast Iowa may be eligible for low-interest emergency loans.  These loans would be for farmers who have suffered major physical losses caused by hail, excessive rain, high winds, and tornadoes from storms experienced on April 14th as well as May 3rd and 4th.

The Primary Natural Disaster Area is for Keokuk County from the April storms with contiguous counties considered Washington, Iowa and Jefferson.

Washington, Henry and Louisa Counties are the Primary areas from the storms in May with Iowa, Jefferson, Johnson, and Keokuk counties part of the contiguous county area.

Qualified farmers living in these areas have eight months to apply for low interest emergency loans from the USDA’s Farm Service Agency.  For more information, contact your local USDA office.