The One to Count On...

Four Mid-Prairie Speech Groups Heading to State

Posted: Monday, January 28th, 2013 at 6:22 am
Author: KCII News - Nathan Swenson

A large group of Mid-Prairie students are heading to the state speech competition. On January 19th the Mid-Prairie High School speech team competed at the Iowa High School Speech Association (IHSSA) Large Group District contest in Keota. While there, four group entries received ratings that allow them to advance to the State competition February 2nd at Cedar Rapids Kennedy High School. Speech coach Mac Hopper says all of the kids put in a lot of time and hard work into their performances.

Groups advancing to state

“Cake Catastrophe” (Group Mime): Haylee Marner and Madison Nielsen

“18 More Reasons Not to Be in a Play” (One-Act Play): Andy Roberts, Anna Mayer, Bekah Stone, Ben Ahrens, Brennyn Hawbaker, Brittney Miller, Cathy Meserole, Christian Crosby, Emily Carey, Eva Etheredge, Hannah Mansfield, Haylee Marner, Jessie Teets, John Allan, Levi Runciman, Madisen Nielsen, Mycailah Salvador

“Hurry!” (Ensemble Acting): Brennyn Hawbaker, Christian Crosby, Hannah Mansfield, John Allen

“Stuck in a Musical” (Short Film): Austin Slabaugh, Ben Stone, Brandon Wade, Caleb Davis, James Roth, Jonah Van Roekel, Josh Gingerich, Wade Stutzman.