The One to Count On...

Washington County MHDS Region Pushes Forward

Posted: Friday, March 1st, 2013 at 7:32 am

Six counties have signed a letter of intent for a Mental Health & Disability Services Region. Washington, Louisa, Henry, Des Moines, Lee and Keokuk counties are drafting a 28E agreement to become a region, said Washington County Supervisor Chair Ron Bennett.

The agreement came about at the counties’ meeting at the Louisa County Sheriff’s Complex on Monday. Bennett explained that the Van Buren representative said the county is going to try to apply alone and not with the region as originally believed.

The letter of intent must be submitted by April first. Bennett stated that another meeting will take place in a couple of weeks.