The One to Count On...

Washington County Included in Disaster Proclamation

Posted: Saturday, April 20th, 2013 at 6:29 am
Author: KCII News - Nathan Swenson

The governor has issued a disaster proclamation for five counties in Iowa, including Washington. Prompted by a spring storm that’s caused flooding in areas, Governor Terry Branstad issued a proclamation activating the Iowa Individual Assistance Program for Cedar, Johnson, Mahaska, Scott and Washington counties yesterday. The program provides grants up to $5,000 for households with incomes up to 200 percent of the federal poverty level, or a maximum annual income of $39,060, for a family of three. Grants are available for home or car repairs, replacement of clothing or food, and for temporary housing. Original receipts are required for those seeking reimbursement for actual expenses related to storm recovery. The grant application and instructions are available at the “Disaster Assistance” link on the Iowa Department of Human Services website: Applications must be received within 45 days.