The One to Count On...

Area Students Honored By Governor

Posted: Tuesday, May 7th, 2013 at 6:24 am
Author: Sally Y. Hart - KCII News

Governor Terry Branstad honored 12 area high school seniors and 438 across the state of Iowa for high academic achievement at the 11th Annual Governor’s Scholar Recognition Ceremony which was held at Hy-Vee Hall in Des Moines last week. Each student’s most influential teacher also received a certificate of appreciation.

Local seniors selected are listed below as they were presented by the Iowa High School Athletic Association.

– Megan Pretz of Columbus Community,

– Matthew Eden of Riverside,

– Namoi Miller of IMS,

– Alexa Sieren of Keota,

– Kimberly Yedlik of Lone Tree,

– Madeline Gent of Mid-Prairie,

– Graham Wittrock of Pekin,

– David Wehr of Sigourney,

– Klinton Garrett of WACO,

– Emma Kroeger of Wapello,

– Samantha Ellingson of Washington

– Alicia Escher of Winfield-Mt. Union.