The One to Count On...

Mental Health Region Submits Response Letter to DHS

Posted: Thursday, May 23rd, 2013 at 6:27 am

Members of the proposed six-county region for mental health and disability services met yesterday morning to discuss progress in the development of the region. It was announced by Sarah Kauffman, CPC of Henry County, that the region’s letter of intent was submitted by the April deadline and that a response letter from DHS, Department of Human Services, stating that some qualifications for creating the region were not met. Yesterday, the members present signed a letter to submit to DHS stating that it is believed that the region meets the qualifications, with support documents attached.

The six counties involved are Washington, Louisa, Henry, Keokuk, Des Moines and Lee.