The One to Count On...

Seven Area Counties Placed On List

Posted: Wednesday, June 26th, 2013 at 6:26 am

Seven area counties have been designated as part of a Presidential Major Disaster Designation, John Whitaker, Iowa State Executive Director for USDA Farm Service Agency, announced. The designation has been issued for Jefferson County as the primary disaster area with the contiguous counties designated to the disaster area. The contiguous counties are Washington, Keokuk, Henry, Davis, Van Buren and Wapello. Low-interest emergency loans may be available for eligible farmers with qualifying production and physical losses caused by severe storms, straight-line winds and flooding from April 17th through April 30. Interested farmers should contact their local county FSA office for further information or look online at The final date for making application under this designation if February 20th, 2014.