The One to Count On...

83 Iowa Counties Included in Major Disaster Designation

Posted: Thursday, July 4th, 2013 at 6:24 am
Author: KCII News - Nathan Swenson

Farmers in most of Iowa are now eligible for loans from the U.S. Department of Agriculture. 83 of the 99 counties in the state are included in the Presidential Major Disaster Designation. Primary counties include Henry, Iowa, Johnson, Keokuk and Lynn, while farmers in Jefferson and Washington may also be eligible. The low interest production and physical loss emergency loans are available to family farmers affected by storms and flooding between mid-May and mid-June.