The One to Count On...

Demon Softball Has Entire Starting Lineup on All-Conference List

Posted: Monday, August 5th, 2013 at 8:30 am
Author: KCII Radio- Drew Shradel

The Washington Demon softball team had every girl on their regular lineup appear on the all-conference list, as first team, second team or honorable mention.

On first team is Maddie Bohr, Sammy Ellingson, Kaitlin Buchholz and Stephanie Fishback. Bohr, had a conference average of .381, with 12 stolen bases, two triples and two doubles, she also committed just two errors in 86 chances, and had a 6-1 record pitching with a 1.47 ERA. Ellingson hit a team leading .421 in the conference with 14 RBI’s, seven sacrifices, seven stolen bases and two doubles. Buchholz who was also the conference MVP, hit .414 with 17 RBI’s, two home runs, two triples and six doubles, and Fishback hit .257 with 19 RBI’s, one triple and three doubles.

On second team for Washington is Ashley Rausch, Joni Erwin and Grace Redlinger. Rausch hit .412 with 18 RBI’s, a home run and nine doubles, she also had a 5-3 record, 3.02 ERA, 26 strikeouts and opponents hit .240 off of her. Erwin hit .352 in conference play with 13 RBI’s and four doubles, and Redlinger hit .320, with 17 RBI’s and three homeruns and doubles.

Honorable mentions for Washington were Kolbi Breard and Chayse Jaspering. Breard had no errors in 101 chances, and Jaspering has eight RBI’s while hitting .256.

Demon head softball coach Angie Shrader said that the players this year set a good example to younger kids that you can be good at anything weather it is softball, or academics.

“It’s just nice that our kids can get that recognition and now there are things that underclassmen can look forward to,” Shrader said. “Maybe they are not the most talented athletic wise, but they can shoot for another goal, and academic wise be [all-state], and that just gives them things and options to shoot for, and I think that is just a great accomplishment for our girls.”

Washington also had 10 academic all conference players, more than all of the players from the other schools combined. Those are Tamera Alexander, Bohr, Buchholz, Ellingson, Erwin, Fishback, Jaspering, Amber Linnenkamp, Rausch and Redlinger. You must be a junior or senior to win this award.

Washington finished as conference champions with a 12-4 record.