The One to Count On...

Twenty-Five Counties Under Quarantine for Emerald Ash Borer

Posted: Saturday, November 2nd, 2013 at 6:23 am
Author: Sally Y. Hart - KCII News

Washington County, along with 24 other counties in Eastern Iowa, has been issued a quarantine to prevent the spread of the Emerald Ash Borer, announced the Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship. Under the quarantine, entire ash trees, firewood of any hardwood species, any cut or fallen material of the as,; non-heat treated ash lumber with either bark or sapwood attached, and hardwood wood or bark chips larger than one inch in two dimension, cannot be moved from a county included in the quarantine without a permit.

Other countines under quarantine include: Winneshiek, Allamakee, Fayette, Clayton, Buchanan, Delaware, Dubuque, Linn, Jones, Jackson, Clinton, Johnson, Cedar, Scott, Keokuk, Muscatine, Louisa, Wapello, Jefferson, Henry, Des Moines, Davis, Van Buren, and Lee.

For the complete report click here.