The One to Count On...

2014 Washington County Fair Results

Posted: Friday, July 18th, 2014 at 7:57 am

2014 Fair Results

All Non-livestock Project Results

Bucket Bottle and Dairy Show

Non-livestock State Fair award winners

Swine Show Results

Market Beef Show, Rate of Gain Contest, and Carcass Results

Garden (Non-livestock) Exhibits results

Poultry Show Results

Sheep Results

Dog Obedience

Dog Agility Results

Livestock judging, rabbit show and pet show results

Breeding beef

Horse show

Working Exhibits:
Eight groups of 4-H’ers participated in the Working Exhibits. Four groups will represent Washington County at the Iowa State Fair. Maddie Hora of the Jackson Jets and Holly Vittetoe of Prairie Pride earned top honor of Judge’s Choice trophy and will also advance to the state fair with their working exhibit “Fly to Success: Be a Leader.” Go-Getter Megan Strabala and Baylee Stalder of Prairie Pride were also selected as a state fair recipient with their farm animal bookmarks. Hannah Van Roekel and Kaycee Miller of the Lime Creek Limelights will share their “Get to Know Grant” working exhibit at the state fair. Montana and Payton Hart of the Kalona Klassics will represent Washington County at the Iowa State Fair with “Fancy Fish”.

Jackson Jet Leah Marek and Taylor Brinning of Prairie Pride were selected as alternates to state fair. Others who participated in working exhibits and received a blue ribbon were: Haley Sweeting, Sarah Schneider, Holly Schneider, Ellie Bell, Sophie Bell, Courtney Shalla, Chelsey Lampe, Olivia Reschley, and Dana Simon.

Share the Fun
4-H’ers participated in Share the Fun on Wednesday, July 16, 2014 at the Washington County Fair. Acts ranged from singing to dancing to tickling the ivories. 9 youth participate from a variety of clubs for an audience gathered in the Community Center.

Three acts advance to the Iowa State Fair including Kylen Anderson and Makenzi Marek from the Jackson Jets 4-H Club with their lyrical dance “God Bless the USA”. Cheyenne Sedlacek a Crooked Creek 4-H member will represent Washington County at the State Fair with her piano solo “Thunderstorm”. Sedlacek also received the Judge’s Choice awards sponsored by the Noon Kiwanis. Emily Hora will also share a piano solo at the Iowa State Fair.

Other participants included Abigail Kleese, McKenna Conrad, Grace Hiller, Addison McGuire and Jacee Stapp. Stapp was named as State Fair alternate.

Share the Fun is a great way for 4-H’ers to share their talents on stage and entertain an audience. For more information on this communication event, contact the Washington County Extension Office.

Special County Project Awards

Over 800 non-livestock projects were on display at the Washington County Fair July 13-17. These projects ranged from food and nutrition to child development to woodworking to garden ideas. They were evaluated July 12 through conference judging.

23 Special County Project Awards were given this year. These awards are supported by trophy donors who have an interest or business in that particular project area.

Special Award Recipients Include: Outstanding Home Improvement: Miranda Romoser for antique chair, Outstanding Textile: Leah Evans for a quilt, Outstanding Food & Nutrition: RyLee Fishback for Triple Berry Jam, Outstanding Child Development to Montana Hart for a bowling game, Best Interior Design to Kristen Twinam for flip top table.

Outstanding Photography: Kylen Anderson, Best Junior Photograph: RyLee Fishback, Best Intermediate Photograph: Kristen Twinam, Best Senior Photograph: Courtney Shalla, Best Use of Design in Visual Arts: Christina Brinning with Flower Wall Hanging.

Most Environmentally Friendly: Baylee Stalder with Horse Show Recycling Art, Most Educational Ag: Keiffer Sexton with Sexy Science, Most Educational Science: Roy Carter with Liquids, Overall Conversation Award: Rory Wagner with bird house, Best Restored Tractor: Nathan Ross, Outstanding Woodworking: Zane Fisher with a chicken coop, Outstanding Personal Development: Lindsey Palmer with Preemie Project. Premier Garden Exhibitor: Lindsey Palmer, Outstanding Flower Arrangement: Jacee Stapp.

Junior Surprise Design: Kyleigh Dolan, Intermediate Surprise Design: Gracie Greiner, Senior Surprise Design: Laura Yoder, Judge’s Choice Surprise Design: Haley Sweeting.