The One to Count On...

Area Counties Included in Disaster Proclamation

Posted: Friday, July 11th, 2014 at 6:23 am
Author: Sally Y. Hart - KCII News

Washington and Keokuk counties are now under a disaster proclamation. This week, Governor Terry Branstad issued a proclamation of disaster emergency for seven counties due to flooding and severe weather beginning June 26. The counties included are Washington, Keouk, Audobon, Grundy, Ida, Jasper and Poweshiek.

The governor also requested FEMA, the Federal Emergency Management Agency, to conduct assessments in 20 counties, including Iowa, Johnson and Louisa counties.