The One to Count On...

Area Wrestlers Advance to Day Two of State Tournament

Posted: Friday, February 17th, 2017 at 7:01 am
Author: Nate Gonner-KCII Sports

Several area wrestlers advanced to day two of the 2017 Iowa State Individual Wrestling Tournament.Columbus-Winfield-Mt. Union had a pair of wrestlers record victories in their opening matches. Jarod Kadel (106; 40-7) tallied an 8-1 decision against Pocahontas Area’s Jacob Mielke. He will face MOC-Floyd Valley’s Johnny Hua in the quarterfinals. Tucker Morrison (170; 46-2) bested Saydel’s Devon Van Houten by 3-1 decision. He’s set to battle Estherville Lincoln Central’s Lincoln Coakley today. The two will be on the mat after 2:30 p.m. today.

Mid-Prairie’s Visouth Peterschmidt advanced in class 2A at 182lbs. Peterschmidt beat Nick Foss of Harlan 6-4 Thursday to move into the quarterfinals. He will wrestle Friday afternoon against Mason Carpenter of Clarion-Goldfield-Dows.

Four area wrestlers will compete today in the Class 1A tournament at 9 a.m. Sigourney-Keota had three wrestlers record wins. Kaleb Reeves (195; 44-5) is on to the championship quarterfinals after a pinfall victory over Panorama’s Dalton Holmes at 1:32. His next opponent is No. 1 Lake Mill’s Slade Sifuente (47-0). Noah Boender (220; 50-3) won his initial match by 20-4 technical fall victory over Dike New Hartford’s Ethan Huntington. He is set to meet Maquoketa Valley’s Eric Heims in the quarterfinals. Mason Dye (106) began the day with a pinfall loss against Maple Valley-Anthon-Oto’s Bryce Kafton (3:43). Dye was able to win his wrestleback match against MFL MAR Mac’s Ethan Stubbs by fall in 2:56. Dye will be paired against a loser of a championship quarterfinal match today.

WACO’s Cody Crawford (285; 36-9) opened the day losing by pinfall to Jesup’s Brian Sadler 2:18 into their match. Crawford will wrestle today after pinning Panorama’s Dan Jensen 23 seconds into the wrestleback match.

Highland’s Cory Stewart (132; 31-11) has been eliminated from the state tournament. He lost by 11-2 major decision to Graettinger-Terril/Ruthven-Ayrshire’s Kolton Roth. Stewart lost his wrestleback match, a 5-0 decision to Don Bosco’s Max Wettengel.

Listen to KCII for live updates throughout the day from the 2017 Iowa State Wrestling tournament.