The One to Count On...

Over 270 Licensed Fireworks Sites in Iowa

Posted: Saturday, June 17th, 2017 at 6:22 am
Author: Sally Y. Hart - KCII News

Photo by Sally Y. Hart

Fireworks can now be legally sold in Iowa.

According to the Iowa Department of Public Safety, the State Fire Marshal’s office has handled hundreds of applications and so far 274 licenses have been issues for consumer fireworks sales, and 14 wholesalers have registered. The new law allows the sale from June 1st to July 8th each year by licensed retailers. Washington County has one registered, Keokuk County has one, Mt. Pleasant has three, Fairfield has one, and there are 13 in Iowa City and Coralville. Consumer fireworks are allowed to be used in the City of Washington from 9 a.m. to 10 p.m. June 1st through July 8th, and December 10th to January 3rd. The state of Iowa sets the standards for the sale of fireworks, while cities and counties have jurisdiction only over the use of fireworks.