The One to Count On...

Hotel Motel Tax Fund Administration Committee Set

Posted: Thursday, September 21st, 2017 at 6:25 am
Author: Sally Y. Hart - KCII News

With the third reading held Tuesday night, the Washington City Council unanimously approved the hotel/motel tax ordinance.

The council also unanimously approved a resolution establishing a hotel/motel tax fund and fund administration committee. City Administrator Brent Hinson explained it was developed in partnership with the Washington Chamber of Commerce. The fund committee consists of seven members, two designated each by the mayor and the chamber of commerce, and three community members mutually agreed upon by the mayor and the chamber. The first committee will include Millie Youngquist and Steve Gault of the city council, chamber representatives Bill Fredrick and Diane Gallagher, and community representatives Jamie Engeman-Evans, Debbie Stanton, and Charla Howard. The hotel/motel tax passed with 75% of voters in favor of it, and the collection of the tax will begin January 1st.