The One to Count On...

Eight Wildcats Claim All District Honors

Posted: Saturday, November 18th, 2017 at 7:00 am
Author: Cole Cook

The Columbus Community football team had eight players recognized in all district awards for class 1A district 4.

Nick Hernandez headlined the action receiving the Defensive Player of the Year Award for the district as a linebacker. The senior amassed the second-most tackles in the district with 82 and finished his career with 255. He also had over 300 yards on the ground with a pair of touchdowns.

Two other Wildcats were named to the first team including do-it-all quarterback Abel Mena. The senior led the team in passing and rushing amassing over 1,400 yards of offense and 16 touchdowns. He also had 60 tackles as a linebacker, to put him with 257 in his career, fourth in school history. The final first-teamer was receiver Tommy Pretz. He was Mena’s main target, getting 20 receptions for 269 yards and six touchdowns. The senior also helped the Wildcats’ secondary with 27 tackles on the year.

Two players were named to the second team including Chance Colby and Bryan Solis. As a defensive end Colby was fifth on the team in tackles with 25 and an interception. Solis was third on the team in tackles with 42, including two for a loss.

Three players were named honorable mentions. Jaime Villegas was the Wildcats’ punter averaging 35 yards per punt in his sophomore season. Cody Fox was selected at the nose guard position having two blocked punts, one blocked point after touchdown, and one interception on the year. The final recipient was Andrew King. A first-teamer last year, King missed much of this season due to injury, but managed 12 tackles in limited action.  

The Wildcats finished the year 3-6.