The One to Count On...

Candidates File for State Legislative Races

Posted: Saturday, March 17th, 2018 at 6:27 am
Author: KCII News - Sam McIntosh

As the deadline to file for state primary elections closed Friday, several candidates are running in the June 5 primary election.

For State Representative District 78, which covers portions of Washington and Keokuk counties, incumbent Jarad Klein (R) of Keota is running for the Republican nomination, and Kimberly Davis (D) of Washington is seeking the Democratic nomination unopposed. For State Representative District 84 which covers Henry and portions of Washington, Jefferson, and Lee counties, incumbent Dave Heaton will not be seeking reelection. Four Republican candidates have filed; Martin Amos (R) of Mount Pleasant, Trevor Lynn (R) of Brighton, Sheila Matheney (R) of Mount Pleasant, and Joe Mitchell (R) of Wayland. Jason Moats (D) of Mount Union is the lone Democrat. Incumbent State Senator Kevin Kinney (D) of Oxford is running for the Democratic nomination unopposed and Heather Hora (R) of Washington is running for the Republican nomination unopposed for State Senate District 39 which covers portions of Washington, Johnson, and Keokuk counties.