The One to Count On...

Over 4,000 Structurally Deficient County-Owned Bridges in Iowa

Posted: Friday, May 18th, 2018 at 6:24 am
Author: Sally Y. Hart - KCII News

Iowa has 4,271 structurally deficient county-owned bridges, according to the Iowa Department of Transportation and Legislative Services Agency.

A bridge is deemed structurally deficient if there is “significant deterioration of the bridge deck, supports, or other major components,” which may cause weight restrictions for vehicles or the bridge to be closed. In Washington County there are 39 structurally deficient county-owned bridges and two were restored in fiscal year 2017. Iowa County has 29, Johnson County 32, Keokuk County 39, Louisa County 14, Jefferson County 40, and Henry County has 25 structurally deficient county-owned bridges. Plymouth County in northwest Iowa has the most at 124.